Soy Milk

October 7, 2009 at 12:01 am Leave a comment

I have about a quarter of the soaked soy beans left over, so I halve the recipe from the book. 250g of water to pulverise the beans, and 300g to cook.

I read the instructions on halving recipes – it says to reduce cooking time by 20%, so it should be about 8 minutes at 90C on speed 4.

I set it for 6 minutes – I don’t want it to burn.

While I wait, I do some research on how long soy milk needs to boil for the trypsin inhibitor to be destroyed. All the information I find suggests about 5 minutes is the minimum.

I return to the Thermomix and find it’s almost done and it hasn’t gotten to 90C yet. Note that my beans were cold from the fridge to start with. I keep it going for another 8 or so minutes. I want to make sure the resulting milk is digestible.

I strain it the next day after keeping it in the fridge – I have to wait for the straining cloth to be returned. It turns out to be very nice and thick.

I think this one is a success.

Entry filed under: Drinks, Gluten Free, Sucessful, Vegetarian. Tags: , .

Carrot and Rockmelon Juice Beetroot Juice

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts


